Wednesday, August 19, 2009

August 18, 2009
Gelredome TINA TURNER "Tina Live' DVD/CD 2 DISC SET

Released 28th September
2008 saw the Queen of Rock "n" Roll, Tina Turner return to the live circuit and announce the ‘Tina Turner's 50th Anniversary Concert Tour’ much to the delight of her fans. The tour kicked off in Kansas in October 2008 and continued for six months visiting over ten countries in two continents.
Tina performed an astounding ninety shows, repeatedly selling out, with nightly standing ovations. Millions of fans and critics alike were blown away by Tina’s age defying high-octane performances showing that the star has no sign of slowing down at nearly 70 years young. The megastar delivered an energetic, powerful, uncompromised two hour set performing classic hits with incredible musicians, vocalists, dancers and ninjas, supported by stunning production, innovative choreography, spectacular lighting, pyrotechnics and much more.
As Tina finished the final show in Sheffield in May 2009 she said, “I have been overwhelmed, astounded and taken to new heights by the reaction of the thousands of fans who came to see me every night. This has been a tour to remember, to hold dear in my heart and what a way to celebrate my 50 years in the business…to sum up…it’s been super!”
To commemorate this record breaking world tour Parlophone will release the Tina Live DVD on 28th September. The DVD was filmed at GelreDome, Arnhem in Holland in March 2009 where Tina played to an enormous crowd of 70,000 people.
Directed by David Mallet for Serpent Productions, he says, ‘Tina is modest. The credits for her stage career should always have read "staged by Tina Turner". As such it has been a positive pleasure over the years to translate her intentions onto film.”
This breathtaking footage is filmed in HD and mixed in 5.1 surround sound. At over two hours long it features all of her much loved songs including, ‘The Best', 'Private Dancer' and the powerful 'We Don't Need Another Hero'.
Tracklisting as follows:
01. Steamy Windows
02. Typical Male
03. River Deep, Mountain High
04. What You Get Is What You See
05. Better Be Good To Me
06. Acid Queen
07. What's Love Got To Do With It
08. Private Dancer
09. We Don't Need Another Hero
10. Help
11. Let's Stay Together
12. Undercover Agent For The Blues
13. I Can't Stand The Rain
14. Jumping Jack Flash/It's Only Rock N Roll
15. Golden Eye
16. Addicted To Love
17. The Best
18. Proud Mary
19. Nutbush City Limits
20. Be Tender With Me Baby

A Tina Live CD serves as an accompaniment to this visual spectacular. Tracklisting as follows;
01. Steamy Windows
02. River Deep, Mountain High
03. What You Get Is What You Seev
04. Better Be Good To Me
05. What's Love Got To Do With It
06. Private Dancer
07. We Don't Need Another Hero
08. Lets Stay Together
09. Jumpin' Jack Flash
10. It's Only Rock And Roll (But I Like It)
11. Goldeneye
12. Addicted To Love
13. The Best
14. Proud Maryv
15. Nutbush City Limits

What the critics said about the Tina Live tour;
“A perfect arena show that delivers both spectacle and triumph... This show offers nothing but her hits, and is all the better for it... Tina has energy and a raw power...and a presence that has always moved audiences.” - SUNDAY TIMES CULTURE

“Tina still has the professionalism, enthusiasm and looks for the task...this show was a culmination of every scrap of stagecraft accumulated in a musical lifetime....still every bit the glamorous but down-to-earth soul mama... The show was a visual banquet full of infectious energy” - FINANCIAL TIMES

"Bursting at the seams with booty-shaking..the climatic finale saw Tina emerge on a contraption lifting her into the bosom of the roaring crowd... Lady T, We salute you! " - DAILY STAR

"Tina proved beyond doubt that she is still simply the best, showing off a great set of pins as she writhed with dancers.." - DAILY MIRROR

"Tina stood like a ship's captain on the prow of a long gantry that swung into the audience as she cheer-led them through Nutbush City Limits" - DAILY EXPRESS

"Costume changes galore, hot dance routines and blistering musicianship.. the tour visits the UK next March and April. Spring chickens Madonna and Kylie take note. This is how to do it." - THE SUN